Gaeta: a precious pearl on the southern Lazio coast

ITALIAN GEMS

Last week I visited Gaeta, a pretty seaport town in southern Lazio. In the morning when I left Rome for my day trip I was a bit apprehensive about whether I would even make it because the town itself does not have a train station, and it was a bank holiday. I caught the Calabria-bound train to Formia, which took about an hour, and luckily a bus arrived outside the station about ten minutes later to drive the last stretch.

Gaeta is situated close to Southern Lazio’s border with Campania. It has played an important role in military history since ancient times, changing hands numerous times over the centuries. Testimony to this is the huge  Aragonese-Angevin castle dominating its skyline.

I had wanted to come here for a while, mainly because I had heard the town was beautiful, as well as its views. It also boasts wonderful natural surroundings, including the

View original post 429 more words

Leave a Reply

